Ice storms and Wonderlands, Photography Weekend in Pineville

bench

clear-creek-at-pine-mountain

lacy-rock-and-gate

clear-creek-rushing-water

ice-at-pine-mountain

view-through-fence

view-through-log
In case you missed the news, much of the South has been experiencing a winter storm–an icy phenomenon that has had a huge impact on a lot of areas and a lot of people. In my little corner of the world, we have had lots of cold temperatures and slippery ice. This occurred just in time for the annual Winter Photo Weekend in Pineville, Kentucky.

I had never heard of Pineville, Kentucky. My husband saw an announcement regarding this event in the newspaper, and, being the thoughtful man he is, he signed us up. We both have a passion for photography and all relationships need an occasional passionate weekend away from the everyday world. So, there it is–we were going to Kentucky and looking forward to it! We made our travel list–you know the list I mean…medicines, reading material, sleep machine, chargers (phone, computer, kindle, camera equipment,) the fan I can’t sleep without, snacks, liquor (it’s a dry county,) and everything else the car would hold. Joe took a half day off and I swapped shifts with a nurse. She will no doubt NEVER forgive me for sticking her with a shift on a icy day when the roads were treacherous and lots of staff called in because they couldn’t get to work! But, anyway, back to my story….

Despite the icy conditions, and, after 2 mg of Valium to help me make it through the VERY scary drive, we made it to the mountainous lodge setting called Pineville State Resort for our getaway. We had an excellent weekend. Surprisingly, it was well-attended–numerous photographer-wannabees looking forward to sliding around in the snow and ice, searching for that one great photo. And, there was a LOT of ice! Several cars slid off the mountain roads and lots of peope fell, but no one was injured and no one cared about the weather. It was all about tripods, cameras and lens and the trails,views and who would win the “Best in Show” photo competition.

The speaker for the weekend was Ian Plant. He was entertaining and informative and showed us a lot of impressive photographs. The resort was not fancy but was very comfortable and warm. The staff was 4- star. They were understaffed, but the service was excellent, the food was plentiful and tasty, everything was clean and homey, and the setting was perfect.

Despite the cold and ice, my husband and I went on a couple of treks on the trails and took a few pictures (I include some with this blog.) I admit I was afraid that I would fall and break a hip or sprain an ankle and Joe was undoubtedly afraid of the same thing–there was no way he could carry ME back and the camera and we LOVE our camera…Thankfully, I didn’t fall, the exercise felt great and the scenery was a winter wonderland.

Mr. Plant, our photographer pro for our Winter Wonderland weekend, stressed over and over the importance of composition and positioning your shot so that the right thing was in the right spot in order to make an ordinary photo turn into an extraordinary one. That is what the ice storm did for all of the people at Pineville State Resort this weekend–it put us all in the right place at the right time to make a wonderful image of an icy but not “cold” weekend. It was a composition that worked for all of us–I’m sure Ian would agree.

About dhutch729

My first blog tells a lot about me. As it says, I've been around awhile and know a little bit about a lot of stuff. My passion in life is photography and photoshop and hope to always be learning and getting better at those things. I have a lot of hobbies and love to write, so blogging will be easy and fun. I look forward to learning this media and reading a lot of peoples blogs!
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Thoughts About Whatever, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ice storms and Wonderlands, Photography Weekend in Pineville

  1. littlemillie says:

    WOW! Thomas and I spent our honeymoon at Pine Mountain. We have only been back a couple of times. I think you are brave for going. I will keep this in mind and will try to go next year.

    Loved your pictures. I took some pictures of the ice and snow but only from my covered, dry front porch and garage. My blog with the pictures is http://littlemilligan.weebly.com/ and my 365 project is: http://klmbestphotos.shutterfly.com/365project

  2. Bill Mc says:

    You are doing so good! I am enjoying every one and looking forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

