Cades Cove Photo Shoot–Team-Building at Work (couples counseling at its best)

Deer in Cades Cove

Deer in Cades Cove

Never in the past did I ever consider that I would enjoy blogging. I enjoy writing lots, but, in all honesty, my passion leans more toward digital imaging and photography. And, face it, most of the people in my age group don’t even know what blogging is. And,  younger people I know don’t believe that someone as old as I am could have all that much to say that would interest them. It’s all true. Regardless, I jumped into this with a surprising eagerness and am enjoying how it makes me feel. That being said, I don’t have the time available for writing and reading my blog every day. So, I have decided to go off in a different direction. For a while at least, I am going to write and post a blog every weekend (probably on Sunday.) I will concentrate on my chosen topic and come up with something to post that I hope will be interesting or entertaining or instructional or whatever…

This week, I am a little late in my weekly post. I have been busy. I have been working on a project and have been taking quite a few pictures in several different locations. The most fun one was last weekend with my husband. We went on a mission to Cades Cove in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. You may have seen my earlier post about a trip to Cades Cove that I took with my father. That sparked an idea that I am developing that includes Cades Cove with all of its wonderful photographic opportunities. That is what I have decided to use as my first scheduled weekend Blog #1.

We set out early Saturday morning. It isn’t a long drive and, since we were going to Gatlinburg later that afternoon for another engagement, going on an excursion into the isolated valley, Cades Cove, seemed like an excellent idea! Our objective was to take some great pictures and get some pictures of ME in the park which we did with some success. Excuse the pictures of me…..Joe took them and he is an excellent photographer. His compositions and my Photoshop obsession made the pictures LOOK great. We both took the landscape photos. It was a team-building activity, to be sure. We had a great day.

Here are the photos and a little history I learned along the way. It has been a fun project!

Split Lot Fence at Oliver's cabin

Inside the Methodist Church

Inside the Methodist Church

John Oliver was the first European settler to live permanently in the cove.. He and his wife nearly starved their first winter there.  They were saved by the local Cherokee Indians.

John Oliver was the first European settler to live permanently in the cove.. He and his wife nearly starved their first winter there. They were saved by the local Cherokee Indians.

John and Lucretia Oliver's Cabin built in the 1820's
John and Lucretia Oliver’s Cabin built in the 1820’s

Grist Mill using an Overshot Wheel

Grist Mill using an Overshot Wheel

The Tipton Place
The Tipton Place

About dhutch729

My first blog tells a lot about me. As it says, I've been around awhile and know a little bit about a lot of stuff. My passion in life is photography and photoshop and hope to always be learning and getting better at those things. I have a lot of hobbies and love to write, so blogging will be easy and fun. I look forward to learning this media and reading a lot of peoples blogs!
Image | This entry was posted in photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

